Family profiles

Our families come from all walks of life and are caring , very welcoming and supportive. They may  have young children at home/ adult children living away or no children. They may be a couple /single person, working in different professions or retired.They are all selected for their caring nature towards our guests.

What is a family profile?

It's few sentences describing the family, to give you a sense of what they're like, where they are and what staying with them might be like. 
We've also asked our lovely host families to include a little message to you, so you can gather a little more insight in to how they interact, communicate and how they describe themselves in their own words. 

Although we cannot guarantee who you would stay with we people match based on your requirements, the location and suitably available hosts. 

If you've any questions please don't hesitate to drop us a message using the contact form below and one of our friendly admin team will get back to you. 

Our families


Mrs D lives in a nice home in a quiet street near the town centre. She is about 10 minutes walking from the town centre. She enjoys cooking and meeting people from different cultures. She is a retired air stewardess and visited most cities around the world.

 Message from host lady: I'm Mrs D, and I've been hosting students for three and a half years. I love it, because I love meeting and learning about people of different cultures. I enjoy cooking, reading, watching movies. I love musical theatre, socialising with friends and family.  I'm retired from my career, therefore lead a much quieter life.

Mrs W

Mrs W is retired with grown-up children. Friendly, experienced and welcoming  hosts who enjoy hosting all nationalities. She enjoys learning about different cultures and sharing cultural experiences.

Message from host lady:  I enjoy cooking and being in my garden. I enjoy walking and doing work for the church eg run the Drop In Centre on a Monday morning, and a Coffee Morning the first Saturday of every month.  I enjoy travel especially in France where I holiday-ed for many years. I am a chatty, friendly and welcoming lady and have been hosting overseas students both here and in Margate for over 40 years.  Some of them long term, eg 4 years.

S family

Mother to 3 grown- up children. Friendly host mother and father welcomes all nationalities and enjoy hosting all nationalities.

Message from host family:  Hi,  I have been hosting students since the beginning of March this year. I am a care worker, looking after older people in their homes. I live in a semi-detached house close to reading town center on a main bus route. I have three children. We are a close family very easy to get on with.I love entertaining and we often have BBQ,s weather permitting we love to watch films as a family and any student would be welcome to join us but would also respect that they may wish to be in their room.

     J family

Friendly and welcoming hosts consisting of husband and wife  and three teenage children who have good amount of hosting experience. They  enjoy meeting new people from different cultures. They are working couple  working in retail and self employed business. They like walking, socialising with friends and family, and holidays abroad.

Message from host family: Hello, We live near to Reading town centre and near to a park and bus stop nearby.  We have three children.  My husband and I both work in retail and our own business. My children enjoy a host of activities which include different sports and we like catching up with family and friends. We are a Muslim family who enjoy hosting and meeting all the students from all over the world. 


Got a question? - Drop us a note


Hostlink UK, Beech Lane, Reading, England, UK
Tel: + 44 (0)7958343981